Does it sound like my daughter could be teething?

Hi everyone, I’m a new mom, my baby is 11 weeks old. My daughter has always been a very good sleeper. I breastfeed exclusively so she eats as often as she wants to. She was sleeping 6-7 hour stretches at night and then after that she would wake up maybe 1-3 times to nurse the rest of the night. Lately she has been more fussy than usual during the day and especially at night. She will sleep around 4-6 hour stretches and then wake up every hour or every other hour after that to nurse. And is extremely fussy when she wakes for those feeds. She’s also been drooling so much and is constantly chewing on her hands and arms. I’m still new to this mom thing and she is my first so I don’t know a whole lot and I’m still learning. So I was wondering if this sounds like she’s teething to anyone else? I have googled it but I’d just like other mom’s opinions. Thank you.

2 Likes

Sounds like my daughter was , but she is just sprouting one tooth close to 10 months old. Mine was drooling a lot too at that time. She may be having a growth spurt !

1 Like

I was just going to suggest growth spurt or possible teething! My little boy got very fussy during his growth spurts and started drooling BUCKETS at 12 weeks and constantly chewing on his hands but didn’t pop a tooth until almost 10 months either. Every babe is different and you know her best, good luck!

1 Like

Is she gaining weight? Just curious. Mine would go nuts on their hands and fingers around the time they needed an increase in milk.

I’d say definitely teething.

11 weeks is generally early for teething, she may not be getting enough to eat. Also look into the Wonder Weeks app. It helps you gage when typical growth spurrs and fussy times are with kids.

I would say she is teething my lil. Boy started teething at 2 months old and he is almost 11 months old and he has 8 teeth