Has anyone gotten the Makena shot while pregnant?

I am pregnant and high risk. My Dr is recommending that I get makena shots. But I’m nervous. At how many weeks do you get them and do they work?

9 Likes

Brittany Elizabeth Williams maybe you can help this momma

1 Like

I can’t remember the weeks, maybe from 16-38, but it really helped!!! Stopped me from having constant contractions, and she stayed in until 39 weeks, unlike my previous 2! :raised_hands:t3: Shots hurt like a mofo, and if you rub it into the muscle afterwards, it’s not that bad. You start to get used to them.

2 Likes

I had them with my son bc my daughter was premature. It was once a week. If you do it, switch side everyweek and make sure to rub the spot, it gets sore.

2 Likes

What that shot for Beverly heard of it

You start them at 16 weeks. I’m already on it and have been getting them every week. I’m now 20 weeks. This is my first time getting them so I haven’t noticed anything yet. They say the shot hurts, it just feels like something being pumped into your butt. It’s not bad, and alternate what side you get them on every week. I’m hoping mine work since my last two pregnancies we’re premature.

1 Like

I did them from 16 weeks til 36 weeks. My 1St baby came at 25 weeks but my baby girl(mackena shots) was born at 39. They hurt,sometimes more than other but totally worth it in the long run.

1 Like

I did get these and I started them at 16 weeks til I was 36 weeks. It saved my pregnancy.

1 Like