How can I help my child with speech?

My son is 3.5 years old and is still struggling with speech. He knows lots of words and can repeat whatever you teach him as for learning new words. He had hearing tests done, and his hearing is fine. The dr thinks due to so many ear infections and fluid in his ears; At the peak time for learning speech, he is behind. We saw a speech therapist and had the evaluation done to see if speech therapy would be a good fit to help him, and she agreed he should start being seen once a week. I was so happy to get the ball rolling with helping him. I got the call yesterday that our insurance denied the speech therapy; I was so heartbroken. When telling my husband about it, I broke into tears because I feel horrible. It’s $65 per session out of pocket if we went without insurance, and that’s just not a choice right now. So my question is, is there any type of program I can do with him at home? I am a teacher and feel like I could teach him if I just knew what to teach him and how to guide him. Or should I call my insurance and see if there’s any way around this? Secondary insurance? Any advice is welcome and thank you for reading this far!!

3 Likes

Is there anyway you can call the speech pathologist and explain the situation right now?
Maybe they can offer 1-2 sessions per month and give you some activities and ways to help him at home.

Talk to your school district. It may be covered through Early Child Education.

6 Likes

Contact your local school district. They should be able to help you.

Otismo speech app its like $14 amonth but worth it. Have you applied for medicaid? Pecs pictures also

Do you use air fresheners? Scented detergent on his bedding? Burn candles? Use highly scented cleansers? All these things affected my children and ear infections

1 Like

Call your county services. My son receives speech therapy through the county and we don’t pay anything. The county pays for it.