How do you know when it's time to potty train?

Needing advice. How do you know when it’s time to potty train? My son is going on for 20 months now. He still does baby talk. Only pronouncing a handful of words and still can’t really feed himself. He is my only child so I’m still learning as a mom. I thought I should wait to potty train until he can say small simple phrases, but I don’t know when that may be. Any advice is appreciated.

7 Likes

My kids constantly wanted to be naked and that’s how I knew they were ready!

Don’t force the issue. Boys train later than girls.

1 Like

Wait until he shows interest like asking questions or following you to bathroom and asking questions about the potty. There are also children’s books on this topic for toddlers. Boys typically take longer and show interest closer to 3

1 Like

Potty training depends on each child differently. My daughter was trained once she started walking…bout 14 months. But my son didn’t train until he was 3. Be patient and enjoy each day. You can’t repeat today…

Every child is different. Both my boys were potty trained by 2 1/2 years old.

Every kiddo is different. I waited until they gave me signs. I was also a working mom with multiple sitters so having someone help wasn’t easy. My oldest was a little over 4 and pee trained in 2 days (poop took 6 months) and my youngest was just over 3 and he pee and poop trained in 3-4 days. I probably could have done them both sooner but waited for warmer weather so if there needed to be an emergency (distance between places is killer) we didn’t have to go in the cold.

1 Like