How to style curly hair?

Help! I’m getting custody of my niece and I have no experience with curly toddler girls hair. My other 5 kids all have fine straight hair. Im assuming she gets it from her dads side. As my sister in law has straight hair as well. Anyway my point is on my last visit with her at the foster parents home her hair feels crunchy like straw. Just wondering what other moms use on their girls hair. I understand they need to leave in conditioner and to never brush their hair but use a comb when wet? What are other moms hair routines with very curly hair.

8 Likes

Youtube will be your best friend.
Look up school styles for curly hair

2 Likes

Leave the conditioner in her hair while in the shower and start combing your way from the bottom of her head to the top of her head. However start from the tip of her hair and make your way to the roots this way you dont rip out her hair. But youtube hair products by people who have a similar curl pattern as her.

2 Likes

Is it mix. My kids r mix and has curly hair and i use pink loction, coconut oil and suave kids shampoo

Little CG’s UK :curly_loop::cyclone::curly_loop: try the curly girl method

1 Like

Join the curly girls group on Facebook. Tons of advice and a great community

I have super curly hair, some tips I use, only brush it right after the shower when super wet. Or even brush it when the conditioner is in before you rinse it out. And then kinda scrunch it up with your hands, or even a towel to dry it a bit. The natural curl will come out. But like you said don’t brush it dry it will friz pretty bad