I am pregnant and my boyfriend refuses to change the cat litter: Advice?

So I have always been a cat mom. I have three beautiful kitties that I love and just found out I was pregnant with my first child. I told my boyfriend that I could not change the cat litter anymore, and he told me that he also was not going to touch it because they were my cats and not his. What do I do? I know you cannot be around cat litter when you are pregnant, and my boyfriend is incredibly selfish. Do I rehome my cats? I am just worried about my baby.

1 Like

I work in the vet field and was pregnant. I was told I couldn’t change the litter in cats there but my own cats were fine since I live with them and have been around them before I got pregnant. It’s not that big of an issue. Just wear gloves and a mask. And talk to your doctor about it. My midwife was also the one to tell me it wasn’t that big of a deal since they’re my cats and I live with them. Also, I’d rehome the boyfriend who’s not willing to help out before re-homing my cats.

2 Likes

Gloves mask take the whole thing outside and do a full dump. Then you won’t be in an enclosed space doing it and will do it less.

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. I am pregnant and my boyfriend refuses to change the cat litter: Advice? - Mamas Uncut

I’d rehome him :woman_shrugging:t4: what a jerk !

12 Likes

Have A friend help you and save the fight

3 Likes

Maybe put a mask on? I changed my kitty litter both times I was pregnant

9 Likes

What about the electric litter box ?

5 Likes

Earsel Lee Vance how funny.

You can get natural litter that is less harmful while pregnant.
Don’t rehome them, they did nothing wrong, rehome him. Asap

10 Likes

I wore a mask my asshole husband did the same thing… happily on my way to divorcing him now :rofl::rofl:

I change mine while pregnant cause my hushed won’t either

He’s a ass, but I wore a face mask when I would change my cats litter.

Get a automatic one that scoops it