My husband made a decision about our life insurance without telling me: Advice?

I’m really upset and sad this evening. My husband and I were talking, and somehow we got on the topic of Godfathers and Godmothers for children in case the parents both pass away. My husband of 6 years and we’ve been together for 12 years total told me his best friend is on our life insurance policy to become The Godfather of our children if we both shall pass away… This is my first time EVER hearing this. I know we have life insurance, but I did not know someone has been appointed to my children and their money if my husband and I shall pass. Of course, my husband said, “we’ve talked about this before.” But honestly I’ve never heard this. My heart is broken because I have parents and sisters that can take over if we were to pass; my family loves my boys very, very much. I’m also upset because he made this decision without me. I’m crushed. My husband knows how hard it was for us to get pregnant. We had several miscarriages/ ectopic pregnancies. And then we were blessed with twins and a singleton. These boys mean the entire world to me. They are all rainbow babies. My heart believes we should have discussed together who the boys would go to. He literally decided on his who and put it in ink with his signature. P.S. My husband’s best friend is nice but not mature enough to raise three toddler boys alone. He is not married and works three jobs. I do like his best friend, but I just don’t see him as a father figure or parent. Please don’t post anything mean. I’m already hard on myself. I feel shattered and broken, to say the least. I hope I don’t pass away until these boys are well into their 60’s.

52 Likes

Oh no, that is most def a mutual decision!!!