My kids told me they don't want to come home: Advice?

I really need advice and I’m very sensitive right now. My kids are 16&17 yesterday I messaged them asking when they were coming back from there dad’s ( we had a nasty divorce 6 yes ago) got an idk from them both. Called my daughter just to get told that she is upset because we have been having to eat cheaper, I growl at her because she wants more than I can give,and I make argument last longer than they should. My son said I’m a slave driver, the house brings back bad memories and is depressed and bored mora’s code upset he is bothered with chores and no internet to game. I expressed that I took a lower paying job to move closer and am on a tight budget, but I have tried to please them for years. The father has twisted my words and has taken the kids from me. Legally he can’t but the kids are old enough to decide. I’m feeling really hurt. And confused. My world has been broken

663 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. My kids told me they don't want to come home: Advice?

I don’t have any advice, but you are in my thoughts. Sending hugs your way!

5 Likes

Let them, the other side isn’t always greener and they’ll find out for themselves. Reassure them you live them no matter what and take the time to work on yourself, I have a feeling you probably have neglected yourself for quite sometime. Prayers for you.

42 Likes

They are old enough let them decide where they want to stay.

3 Likes

Kids tend to prefer the Disneyland Dad, especially teenagers. The grass always looks greener for them but once their dad starts treating them like a nuisance, they will eventually come around. It isn’t an instant process but adult children of divorced parents have a way of seeing which adults prioritized them and which ones didn’t.

32 Likes