Throwing a surprise baby shower and needing advice!

I’m throwing a surprise baby shower. I’ve never done one of these before. Do you give out favor bags as you would at the end of a birthday? If so, what do you put in there for adults, and what do you put in there for kids? I DIY-ed the invites and whatnot, and everyone loved those. So I know I’m handmaking thank you cards. What else would you put in the favor bags?

20 Likes

For my baby shower, we gave out bars of soap with a little tag that said, “Thank you for showering the little one with love.”

Ive been to ones with hershey bars with he or she colored in with marker (pink or blue) , ones with cookies or candies . We always have a diaper raffle or games for raffle tickets for gift baskets they can pick from. So favors were just goodies , some did satchels with scented beads etc.

At my babyshower, it was snowflake themed, the girls throwing my shower, bought fuzzy socks for favors.
I wouldn’t make extra favors for children, usually most babyshowers (ones I’ve been too) don’t involve bringing children.

If you have a theme, you can always try to make the favor match. You can check Pinterest for ideas.

If you’re having children there, you could do a favor that works for everyone. There’s so many ideas, like this one!

2 Likes

I’ve been to some that give away soaps, lotions ( either homemade or bought), notepads, as gifts for the games like baby bingo, name the nursery rhyme, or the Disney character, children’s tv show. My girls have always come with me if it’s a family shower or at church.

We found paper flowers with annual seeds infused in them. They grew great for the guests and were unique. Plant. Water. Flowers.

We did mini sweet pea hand sanitizers for my sister in law this fall, and has little stickers made that said “thank you for celebrating our little sweet pea!” It was super cute, easy and useful. Especially during this pandemic