What can I do to stop the breakeage in my hair?

I am having issues with breakage in my hair. I have been growing it out for several years, but it seems to be brittle. The left side seems ok, but the right side is very troublesome. I have a large area that has broken nearly in half. I need to cut the breakage and ends and help rejuvenate it, but does anyone have any other suggestions? I have tried changing shampoos, not brushing it when wet; I very rarely put it up. I am at a loss.

8 Likes

I have the same problem.

Conditioning treatment, Tresseme is the best for hair cause it doesn’t not contain salt. Dove and Pantene is basically plastic. In currently a cosmetology student and Iegit just went over this chapter on hair care. You can call up and ask a salon near you what to do first hand, and maybe they can recommend the best conditioning treatment to get you started.

1 Like

Since it’s on one side, maybe it’s your pillowcase,?
I use a satin type one and its good for your hair and face.

3 Likes

Start taking biotin daily…multivitamin for hair/nails

1 Like

Do you use a lot of keratin treatments on
Your hair? I used to use shampoo, conditioner and other products with it in them and didn’t realize that too much keratin can cause damage

I second the pillow case recommendation

I am a hairstylist (for 5 years now) and I would suggest an olaplex treatment. This repairs the broken bonds within the hair unlike conditioning treatments which just make It feel better for a short time. Then after your visit in the salon you choose, let them recommend a shampoo and conditioner that would be best suited for you. Talk to them about the products your already using and wether they are doing anything beneficial.

2 Likes

Take a collagen supplement and go to a farm supply store and see if they have show and sheen deyangler and conditioner oil.

2 Likes

Use coconut oil, olive oil, onion oil and black seed oil, it regunevates the hair, stop breakage and makes hair longer.