When should I forward face my child?

Hey mamas, I was wondering at what age did you turn your child’s car seat forward-facing? My daughter is 15 months old, and I just bought her a new chair today. I have four children, but my son before he is 13. I feel like a new mom again because so much has changed. The Pediatrician told me she needs to be rear-facing until three???

14 Likes

I’d listen to the Dr

I kept mine rear facing as long as possible

3 Likes

Most states are adopting the law that they need to stay rear facing until ATLEAST 2 years old

Until they MAX out rear facing which most can be up to 50 pounds

2 Likes

In Illinois the law is 2 years. Every state is different. Look up ur state

I think it’s by state. I’m in NY and believe the law says 2.

I put my boys forward facing at about a year and a half or so, they’re tall so having them rear facing was hurting their legs

6 Likes

Hi, I’m a Child passenger safety technician.
The absolute minimum a child should be forward faced is age 2. However, the absolute safest and fullest recommendation is 4+ years of age, or maxing out the child’s seat limits.

The biggest danger with forward facing too early is the risk of traumatic atlanto occipital dislocation, also known as internal decapitation.
When children are young (infant through about age 6), their vertebrae in their neck are actually made of more crrr 4artilage than the vertebrae of older children and adults. This allows their neck to stretch and flex way more than it will when they are older. Over time, the cartilage will slowly ossify and turn into bone. It is recommended to keep children RFing until a MINIMUM of age 2 because that’s the beginning of the process but their necks are still pretty weak at that point.