Would I be able to rent a house if I own one?

My husband and I have decided to separate. I don’t live near any family or support system, but I want to stay in the same city to see his dad often. I make enough money on my own to be able to rent my own place. My question is, my husband and I own a house together. Would landlords or rental agencies turn me down because I am “co” owning a house already? Would the house need to be 100% turned over to my husband in divorce court first? ( I know I’m not using great phrases, I’m new to this) Side note I have good credit…anyone else been in a situation like this before?

1 Like

They dont care what you own as long as you have good credit and pay the rent.

9 Likes

When I split with my ex-husband I was able to rent an apartment even though I was on the mortgage and deed to the house. I am in PA not sure if that matters. Best of luck to you

1 Like

He needs to buy you out of the mortgage. That is your house too.

12 Likes

I believe as long as you have decent credit and can provide proof of income several times the amount of the rent, then you shouldn’t have much trouble being approved

3 Likes

As long as your income meets their requirements and credit is good I don’t see the problem

1 Like

Depends on the requirements of the landlord. Some don’t do very thorough background checks and as long as you make enough to pay the rent or qualify to their satisfaction, your home ownership wouldn’t matter. Some would ask you to list all of your liabilities (that would include the mortgage if it’s in your name as well) and would want you meet their requirements with that factored in as well. Good luck!

Yes I did. He didn’t refinance until he was forced 7 years later. I had rented a few diff places in that time before I bought again.

You should be able to go rent right now. They won’t care about your mortgage

1 Like

Have him rent a place u stay at the house

7 Likes