Breastfed baby wont eat solids?

My daughter will be 8 months old in a few days. She is breastfed. My last child only breastfed for a couple of months so I have no experience with this.
She is pretty much exclusively breastfed. Well I’ve been offering her other options since she was 6 months old. Baby food etc… obviously still breast feeding which I adore and love. I plan to do it for awhile still to come.
She will eat sweet potatoes and carrots sometimes if she’s up to it but nothing else. I’ve tried giving her juice, water, pedialyte, in a bottle. She will not take it but if I put her breast milk in a bottle from time to time she’s fine.
She’s not interested in hardly any baby food. I’ve tried giving her other things as well, plenty of things honestly… not just baby food but she will gag and spit it out. Almost anything as far as food she will not take.
Just as well as fluids. She has had rsv previously and her dr wanted me to try to get more fluids in her, pedialyte etc and she absolutely will not take it.
Does this seem normal? She’s a chunky little girl and I know she’s healthy. She’s not as big as most babies her age, she is small but she’s chunky all over.
Her dr isn’t concerned about that because she puts on weight at every app.
I am just curious if it’s normal for some babies to refuse food or anything else for awhile. My last was a big fatty and ate anything I fed him. If it was edible, he ate it.
My daughter, not so much.
However she loves loves loves the boob. She’s attached which I don’t mind at all.
I love how much she loves breastfeeding but I do worry about her not wanting anything else.

6 Likes

Its normal. Remember food before 1 is just for fun. My son didn’t like food until age 2. Until then it was all boob.

1 Like

My daughter is just about 13 months & she still loves the boob more than anything, don’t worry :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like