Can blood tests have false negatives?

Please keep anonymous; I was wondering can a blood test come out wrong??? long story short, I was on birth control till about a week ago; I was supposed to have a period on the 17th of last month and didn’t, so I went in last week to do a blood test, and it came out negative it was after I took two home pregnancy a couple of days apart that were negative, but I’ve been having pregnancy symptoms nausea, fatigue, my moods change quickly, and I’ve been really emotional lately, I just had my daughter six months ago and got on birth control a few weeks after so is there a chance I am but tested too early???

13 Likes

Nope, they are pretty accurate

I’m not a doctor but I have had 4 pregnancies and i know that the most accurate pregnancy test is a blood test. It will pick up even the minimalist of hcg. From what I was told it can pick it up at 2 weeks pregnant.

Usually no. If you just stopped birth control it probably just your body trying to regulate itself again.

14 Likes

All these symptoms can be caused by hormones alone.

3 Likes

Blood tests are pretty accurate but 19yrs ago (tests have come further since then) my first blood test came back negative…a second test a week later came back inconclusive then the third revealed that i was indeed pregnant…stress, diet ect can bring about all these symptoms too…hope you get your answers soon x

1 Like

Probably related to your starting and stop of the bc

4 Likes

You stopped north control, that alone can cause all those symptoms.

6 Likes

Could be symptoms of the birth control on. Lo Lestra Fe made me nauseous and tired all the time. Switched to Nortrel…better fit. No side effects

Nope blood tests are pretty accurate. u just stopped birth control a week ago u wouldn’t get symptoms that fast it’s because ur body was getting used to the birth control and now it has to get used to being off it

1 Like