Does teething cause fevers?

My son is almost 14 months old. He is cutting a tooth currently. He has been running a fever for the past two days. He says between 101.4-102.8 being the highest. Medicine only works for about 2-3 hrs. I alternate the Tylenol and Motrin as directed. I took him in to see a doctor he has no ear infections and overall dr said he is fine. He is aware of his fever of course but didn’t comment much on it. Just mentioned allergies. I’m not a doctor by any means but I just feel like there is more to this. I’m aware teething can cause fevers but to 102.8? Also, no other symptoms. He isn’t congested or runny nose, no cough, nothing noticeable which is also odd. He had fever chills today. I did get that to stop. I’m just trying to trust my doctor but seeing how uncomfortable my son is and having to wait to give him more medicine is tough. He gets a fever back before it’s time for another dose. I’m just lost and want my baby to feel better.

6 Likes

Fever will come back when it’s close to another dose. It’s time to worry if the medicine does not get the fever to go down

1 Like

Never ever suspect a fever is from teething. A fever is the bodies way of fighting off infection

My littlest is like that every single time she gets a tooth. I just leave it alone

They don’t get a fever when teething …it’s something else

1 Like

All 3 of mine got fever with every tooth.

Give him cool baths and nice cold treats (a popsicle or jello)im sure its from his teeth coming in. Juat keep ir eye on him. Does he seem lathargic or tired? Overly cranky? Less hungry? Mine both got high fevers with teeth coming in. Hope he feels better soon.

3 Likes

Doctor told me to only worry if its above 103 for more than 3 days. The fever is completely normal. My daughter use to physically get sick every time a tooth would come in.

Cool cloth on his forehead when he’ll tolerate it and wait it out. Keep alternating Tylenol and Motrin every 3 hours.

1 Like