Has anyone gottan an IUD before 6 weeks postpartum?

Has anyone gotten the IUD put in before you were 6 weeks postpartum? I’m going to ask my doctor if she will do it at like 4-5 weeks pp. Also any advice? This is my first time with an IUD. Thanks!

3 Likes

I got mine at 6 weeks . Then had it taken out when tried for another. But recently have had mine in for 4 months and I don’t like the bloating I get from it . I gained 8 pounds shortly after having it put in and also been bleeding mostly on rather then off the entire time which is normal

1 Like

Mine was placed during my c-section.

I was 8 weeks out… never had a problem, on my second mirena

I did! I got it right after giving birth. The bleeding was so heavy and for so long during my first period post partum I actually considered getting it removed.

My youngest daughter was born November of 2018 I got it put in February of 2019 as they won’t do it before the 6 week mark.

We my 5th child they put the iud in right after he was born and the placenta came out

1 Like

Mine wouldn’t as they said your uterus needs to shrink back down a bit before they can otherwise you risk it just falling out.

1 Like

My doctor doesnt suggest iud until 3 months because uterus is still shrinking and puts you at risk for perferation. That said, i asked for it anyways at my 6 wk check up. I was seeing moms(online) getting them while still in the hospital after giving birth! As crazy as that seems to me, i thought if theyre doing at birth, 6 weeks cant be that bad…

1 Like

Is good and better you asked your Doctor

Most doctors refuse before the 6 week mark

2 Likes

I was right at 7 weeks when I got my Mirena. I had also JUST had my gallbladder out as well, like days before. It was super simple. No problems. That was almost 6 years ago and I’m almost at 1 yr with Mirena #2- still no problems.