How can I help my brother who is an alcoholic?

I know this isn’t entirely mom-related. I am 28, and my brother is 41. Has been in and out of rehab but falls off the wagon. He lives with our parents, and it’s a rough situation there too. I have no idea how to help, but I’m the only person he talks to. Has anyone dealt with similar situations and any success stories to overcome this…

76 Likes

Tbh as much as u want to help if he isnt ready there isnt a lot u can do. I know it sucks. Been there, done that with my son. And sometimes if u push it too hard u will push them away and they wont come to u at all. I wish u all the best and hope this works out well for u

I don’t know if he attends AA meetings, but AA and a good sponsor helped me stay sober for 61/2 years. Believe me, I was a heavy drinker. It’s helpful to be in contact with others in the same situation. Go with him if that would help. AA is a loving, welcoming group of all kinds of people (I’m a nurse).

1 Like

All you can really do is offer support, love and encouragement. Healing starts from within and him.

1 Like

Cant help someone who doesnt want help. You can offer, but until they’re tired if living the way they have been they will not change.

4 Likes

Sadly, you can’t help him… Only he can do that… You can love him and let him know that you will be there to help support his sobriety, but that’s all you can do. HE and he alone, is the only person that can save him… Addiction sucks, and it’s hell for those of us that love the addict… Set boundaries, so that he knows what you will deal with and what you won’t, and stick to them… #prayingforyou #addictionsucks #youarenotalone #addictionhurtsfamilymembers

3 Likes

I feel you on that. I lived through it already and my best advice to you is ask God how to deal with it. You will be surprised as to what will start happening. If you tried everything else and nothing works, try Jesus :pray::heart: