How to deal with mom guilt?

My husband and I both work full time. We have 2 kids. One goes to school and one goes to daycare. If i am not working i am home with the kids. My husband and I would only go on dates maybe 3-4 times a year. Recently we have been doing a monthly date night. We usually go to dinner for 2-3 hours. It has been great for our marriage. However i always feel so guilty leaving my kids. Maybe because we both work 40-45 hours a week. Why do i feel so guilty? Should we cut the date nights to every two months? Why do I feel guilty for spending time with my husband?

8 Likes

No, you need time to be husband and wife. And if it’s only once a month for a few hours that’s pretty good. But if you feel guilty then plan date night at home after kiddos go to sleep. Yeah it might be a late night date but still.

1 Like

A monthly date night is perfectly acceptable. My husband is a plumber and on call on friday nights. I am a full time student and mom. Your marriage will suffer if you guys give it up. If it really bothers you maybe every other month is a family date night type thing instead of just the two of you.

1 Like

No. Don’t cut the date nights. You need that in a relationship. It will keep y’all sane an connected. I agree with above comment make kid date nights. Family date night games, food, movies. Something of that nature.

1 Like

No you two need time to be yourself. Few hrs a mth kids aint going to notice

1 Like

U have to have time with ur husband to just make a family date once a month

You need time to.as ling as you spend time with them after work and weekends when its not date night