How to get kids to take medicine?

Hi mamas how did you get your child ( mine is 9) to eat/drink or take medicine if they are sick and or vomiting? I am about to pick up the meds for vomiting from pharmacy but the nurse that my husband talked to didn’t really say anything. I even offered popsicles.

13 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. How to get kids to take medicine? - Mamas Uncut

What is the medication? Is it a pill? Liquid?  dissolvable?

Some nausea meds will melt on the tongue/in the mouth depending on what was prescribed. When I worked as a pharmacy tech, our pharmacists recommended a chocolate syrup chaser- give the meds then give a teaspoon full of chocolate syrup. Worked for my kids. Good luck!

I melt it with water in a spoon.

Bribery is how I’ve done it…I make sure I have a special treat for them I show and they get as soon as they swallow the meds. Since yours is for vomiting, candy which I usually do probably not the best idea but a small toy or favorite movie or play outside or something the kiddo loves. Most of all stay patient!

Our pharmacist tells us to mix the liquid medicine with chocolate syrup. Pill form we crush and put into chocolate pudding or applesauce.

Idk ngl I don’t let my kid watch anything or do anything for refusing medication . I tell him if he’s not willing to help himself how can I help him. I also tend to give him Gatorade when he’s sick (zero) for electrolytes. He no longer fights it.

1 Like

Try Coca Cola. It settles your stomach small sips. Works better than ginger ale. Dr Donald Munn taught me this when one of my kids Was throwing up all day long. Only took one or two drinks. Have used it ever since

Never had any bother tbh. They just took it
Personally id try bribery…a treat they want but don’t normally get

Crush it and put it in there drinks. I can’t even get my son to take him vitamin most days I give him chocolate milk with his vitamin in it