How to potty train a boy?

My son is four years old, will be 5 in August. He was slow at catching on to potty training… but once he started, he went all the time. He did this for about eight months. Then the last couple of months, he has started pooping on himself. He wears briefs and boxer shorts. He still goes to the potty to pee just fine. I’m not sure what’s going on… so I took him to his pediatrician, and she thought it was bc he is constipated. I don’t think that… he is pooping normal bowel movements and goes often. He doesn’t complain of any pains in his belly or bottom. I’m just lost on what to do… he will be starting school soon, and I don’t want this to be an issue for him. Open to any advice… FYI: this is my first time having a boy.

14 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. https://answers.mamasuncut.com/t/how-to-potty-train-a-boy/10129

My littlest daughter did this(as well as her older hf sister). All of a sudden, one day, after 2-3 months of this is they both had started to poop in the potty

Sometimes it can happen because of stress or trauma. Is he in daycare, private or a center? Has there been any changes, such as a new job for u, a move, is he away from u more, r u in a new relationship? Can u think of something thst happened that is different thet happened a few months ago…around the same time this all started? I would start there.

9 Likes

You need a new pediatrician who knows how to do her job.

2 Likes

My boy was like this. Was younger than yours. Started great then pooped in his pants 3 times a day he just stopped with the promise of reward