How to potty train a boy?

My son is four years old, will be 5 in August. He was slow at catching on to potty training… but once he started, he went all the time. He did this for about eight months. Then the last couple of months, he has started pooping on himself. He wears briefs and boxer shorts. He still goes to the potty to pee just fine. I’m not sure what’s going on… so I took him to his pediatrician, and she thought it was bc he is constipated. I don’t think that… he is pooping normal bowel movements and goes often. He doesn’t complain of any pains in his belly or bottom. I’m just lost on what to do… he will be starting school soon, and I don’t want this to be an issue for him. Open to any advice… FYI: this is my first time having a boy.

57 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. https://answers.mamasuncut.com/t/how-to-potty-train-a-boy/10129

My doctor told me that alot of children are scared of sitting on the toilet to poo. My son would stand and pee just fine but refused to use it to poo. He was 6 before he was fully trained my doctor said to just give him time and suggest trying it daily but not to force him. Eventually he wanted to be a big boy and do it

4 Likes

Praise, praise, how good they are, how smart they are, being kind works wonders for little kids, and so quickly they learn, how proud you are of them. They feel secure and loved, and that’s what it is all about,

1 Like

I DID THIS! I un-potty trained myself as a kid. I remember part of it was I didn’t want to poop. I don’t remember why I didn’t want to. Just that I didn’t want to. So, I actively tried to hold it. I eventually caught back on and got over it. I wasn’t shamed for it or disciplined for it. We just acknowledged it and moved on. I’m sure you’re doing everything you can! You know your child. Hang in there.