I feel guilty for leaving my kids for the entire day: Thoughts?

So today is my husband, and I’d like the first anniversary. Both of our kids (2&3) are sick right now, so they’re staying with grandparents instead of going to preschool for the day because of we both work. We had planned to go to dinner tonight and to a spa (we would be gone for about 3 hours), picking them up at 8:45 pm. I am feeling extremely guilty about leaving them for the entire day. I am going to go bring them their medicines before dinner then leaves again. I feel terrible. I want to cancel our date, but my husband gets irritated with my constant anxiety and guilt. I work all day tomorrow from 7 am-7:30 pm because I am a nurse. So I won’t see them all day tomorrow either. Does anyone have any advice on what I should do or any encouragement?

18 Likes

Do watch you feel is right dont let no man tell you what to do even if he is your husband

1 Like

Go get the kids. I know when my daughter is sick, all she wants is cuddles.

1 Like

We skipped our anniversary dinner because our children were sick last year, it’s sad but it’s a sacrifice you make when your little ones aren’t well.

4 Likes

Don’t feel guilty. You are a working mom. Every mom deserves to relax once in a while.

14 Likes

I’d do what you want to. No point going if you dont want to, you’ll be miserable.

1 Like

I know they’re sick but celebrating these mile stones with your husband are very important. Ask your husband what he thinks is best 1st. If he wants to celebrate at home with candles and nice dinner then do that. I know the kids are important but they are safe. A few more hours will be okay

5 Likes

Hey momma you need a day with your husband. Don’t feel guilty got the next 16 & 15 years. They probably won’t even remember this day. Go enjoy yourself.

6 Likes

All my children are grown and on their own. You need to reschedule your date night! You’ll feel so guilty the whole time and sick kiddos need their momma!