I’m looking for some insight into paid maternity/parental leave

I’ve been working casual for 3 years but basically worked every Mon-Fri arvo/night since starting. My partner also works 5 days a week.
Any info on how it all works would be very appreciated. And what happens if your claim or what not is rejected? How do you cope on one income with a newborn and other children?

6 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. I’m looking for some insight into paid maternity/parental leave - Mamas Uncut

It depends on the company you work for and if they offer paid leave…

4 Likes

for many yrs, many women have made this work, yes times weren’t easy, we did without. But it works, And you will find a way

It all depends on the company. When I was pregnant with my second and third children I only worked part time (under 30 hours a week) and I qualified for FMLA but they didn’t offer paid maternity leave, you could use your short term disability for it but I didn’t qualify for it since I didn’t get benefits being part time. I still took 3 months off for both births, I had c-sections and needed that time to recover.

Depends on the state you live in. I work for a company that offers paid maternity leave but I wasn’t eligible because my state doesn’t allow it.

These are questions you need to talk to your human resources manager about. You & your doctor will have to fill out FMLA paperwork. You’re allowed 12 weeks a year of FMLA legally. How you get paid time off is up to the company.

5 Likes

I get the feeling you don’t live in the US. You’ll need to budget and go without if your claim isn’t accepted. I’m not sure what claim you’re talking about, that’s why I’m thinking you’re in a different country. But you’ll just have to tighten the budget and only do the bare necessities while you are on one income.

2 Likes