My doctor told me my breastmilk wasn't good enough: Advice?

I have been breastfeeding for 9 months and the doctor told me since my baby wasn’t gaining weight and was losing that my breast milk wasn’t good enough for him…is this really a thing? I feel like I failed him

16 Likes

At nine months they should be eating baby food too . You can also start introducing whole milk into their daily eating schedule

21 Likes

I had to supplement mine with formula. Like half breast milk half formula because the requirements he needed had to do with calories. Some babies just need more. I still breast fed and pumped until 12 months though. I didnt let it stop me. Also though at nine months a baby should really be eating more than just breastmilk

6 Likes

My daughter’s ped told me the same thing when she was first born. I switched peds after I found out she had put in her chart “mother is underfeeding newborn.” New doctor ran a bunch of tests, concluded my babe was healthy but tiny, and we never looked back.

6 Likes

It would be one thing if baby was steadily growing and gaining, but if baby is actually losing weight then yes, there is a problem. Whether it is in relation to breast milk or something else remains to be seen but at 9 months most babies will be eating solids in addition to breast milk/formula so that would be a place to start. If baby continues to lose weight then there may well be a different issue going on

11 Likes

It happened with my daughter and my son. I’m so sorry. I completely understand that you are feeling but remember you did it during the most important months that 0 - 3 months.

1 Like

By 9 months we were using breastmilk AND solids, both very regularly. It was what he needed to thrive and gain especially big such a big little dude lol

4 Likes