My family is livid I am dating a single dad...advice?

I need advice on what to do…I am a single woman and am 22 years old…I met a 30 year old on Tinder about 7 months ago and from the start it was meant to be…I knew from the start that he was a single father of 2 baby girls and that was fine with me as I am a Pre-K teacher and love kids…We recently started getting serious and I am going to meet his girls very very soon and I can’t wait (he wanted to wait a while due to the fact that his girls lost their mama a few years ago)…I love this man with every fiber of my being and know I will love his girls too…the issue is my family found out he has kids and they are livid with me…they are saying they feel robbed of seeing me as a “mother to my own” first…I am heartbroken because I love my family but I also love this man and I know he is the one for me…my family is basically going to cut me off over this and idk what to do…how can I make my family understand this is a good thing? I want to step up for his daughters and I want my family to eventually love them to…

74 Likes

I think your family is being selfish. It’s your life, live it the way you want. You sound amazing

51 Likes

If your family is going to cut you off for this… they’re no family I’d want to have. How incredibly selfish of them!

20 Likes

I think if you are serious and 100% in on being a mother to these girls then go for it !! At this point it’s about the kids and also to factor in your family and how they already are about the situation (which I think is very sad) And I think you sound like you would be an amazing mother to these girls who lost theirs. Really thjnk about it, it’s a lifetime commitment along with making sure he’s a good man for you.

19 Likes