My husband couldn't handle watching our kids...advice?

Feeling stressed and annoyed at the same time.We just had a baby in December and I’m taking leave until May. The plan was I would take the leave then my husband would take May to June to watch her until I am off for the summers . Then we would enroll her into daycare In at the end of August when I have to go back to work ( I’m a teacher ). Today I had to go to my son’s IEP meeting and was gone for an hour. Husband had to watch the kids while I was gone. He called my phone, sent me a video of a crying baby ( which makes me freak out naturally) and was in an awful mood all night after. He said if the baby and him can’t figure it out in a week, start looking for a daycare in May because he’s not doing it. I’m annoyed because that relationship between a dad and baby takes time. And he never changes her, feeds her or cuddles. She is also a breast fed baby and still learning to drink from a bottle. I just want to lose it on him.

123 Likes

I promise it gets easier. My man was like this until our baby got a little bigger. I think they’re afraid of them a little bit when they’re little. Once ours was about 6 to 8 months old it got easier for him and he’d quit freaking out while I was working. I know it’s hard and hurts your heart in the mean time, but have some hope.

5 Likes

Is he an active participant when you are home with him and baby? That’s where I would start because it doesn’t sound like he is!

You are a married single mom. My husband watches all of our kids with no issue. He always has since they came home. I’m a stay at home mom and he helps with everything still. Cooking, cleaning, he does it all. This isn’t your first child and your daughter is 2 if he can’t handle her now he won’t be able to when she’s sitting up and crawling soon. Leave now.

1 Like

Ellisha Renegar Taylor Lawd……

Tell him to get in the bin xx