Pros and cons of homeschooling?

I’m thinking about home schooling my son when the time comes , any moms home school there children ? What are the pros and cons ? How does it work per say ? I’m new to this & it’s a new thought between my husband and I ! Because of all of the violence going on in this world ! My husband brought this to my attention about home schooling !

19 Likes

Homeschooling is amazing. I love it. I have so much more time with my children<3 They receive a far greater education as well. I would encourage you to look up your states requirements. It would also be helpful to reach out to different homeschooling groups on Facebook that are stationed in your area. They will likely be able to provide a weath of knowledge regarding homeschooling in your state. It’s also wonderful to have that support when first starting out, as well as throughout your homeschool journey. You’ll likely find a few good friends as well. Often these groups will plan field trips and study groups together as well. :slight_smile: good luck, Mama!

14 Likes

I love it. It’s our first year, and I’ll say it’s so much better and more relaxed than public school. My kid is so excited about learning, and is retaining it all because we’re going at his speed.

Every state has different requirements. I loved it because my son got more one on one attention. He wasn’t a traditional learner. He had intellectual disabilities. He couldn’t remember anything from books but he could remember everything he did with hands on experience. The ability to learn anywhere and design curriculum that worked for his needs was great too. We weren’t restricted to a classroom. He could learn at the park, zoo, library and anywhere else he wanted to go. We even did a few lessons at the court house.
Some kids need strict structure and some kids need to be able to explore to learn because sitting still for 8+ hours a day isn’t possible for them. I would suggest going with your child’s needs.

4 Likes