We are trying for another baby but have a two bedroom house: Advice on how to make it work?

My husband wants to try for another baby. We currently have a 13-month-old daughter. I work at her daycare and pay 1/2 price, but that’s still $100 a week…if we had another it would be $200 a week. I don’t want to stay working at a daycare forever. I have a Bachelor’s Degree. He makes good money at his job, but I’m not sure what to do. I’d love to have another one, but at the same time, we’d probably make too much for Medicaid, which means a hospital bill, more diapers, all of the baby’s needs, etc. IDK. I’m good at overthinking things. We also only have a two-bedroom house, and her room is quite small. We rent from my grandmother, so it’s fairly cheap for the area. A 3 bedroom is at least $850, and that’s usually an apartment. We have a large dog, so that’s not an option. Our credit isn’t the best, so I’m not sure if we’d even be able to buy. Mama’s, how do you do it? How do you have two close in age and make it work? Not looking for backlash. Just advice and opinions!

21 Likes

Hubby and I work opposite shifts, i work part-time and this way we don’t pay for a babysitter or daycare.
It’s hard but we make it work.

2 Likes

I got 2 daughters one 4 and another 2. And they share a room. You dont really have to worry about the bedroom issue for almost 2 years. Cause for almost a year your pregnant and then me personally I always felt comfortable with my child sleeping in the same room for atleast first 6 months. So more like a year and half and if you have same of the same sex they could share a room . Mine dont have a big room either but first it was just a toddler bed and crib and now they got bunk beds.

5 Likes

The kids share a room…

4 Likes

I wouldn’t purposely plan a child knowing that I might struggle trying to care for it. Definitely not judging you guys and I wish you all the best. Just saying maybe work on bettering your situation before having another kid