What do I need to know when hiring a babysitter?

I’ve recently had to look for a part-time babysitter for my 3 yr old. I’m working from home and can’t really give the attention I need to. So I’ll be home while the sitter is there…only a few hours a day 2-3 days a week. So I wanted to know what is procedure you all follow when hiring a babysitter? Do they fill out an app? Is there a written agreement or just a verbal agreement? Sign off when paying in cash? Independent background check? Please let me, I’m new to this, but I’m not naive, and I don’t play games when it comes to my child. Thanks!

10 Likes

Background check
Have it in writing what your paying etc

1 Like

Try care.com for some help (they consolidate background check info, references, tax forms, etc) if you live in a more highly populated area. They also have articles addressinf some of your questions.

1 Like

I’d do a background check and check references. Also a written contract

2 Likes

Nanny cams. Y’all can hate if you want but people are NOT who they seem. Tell them your recording. Have them fill out an application, get references, background check, have them meet your child first before they start babysitting.

15 Likes

I only do people I know or people I know who use someone. So by referral only. Right now my 5year old has an awesome sitter!

2 Likes

Always get the agreement in writing that way there is no problems

1 Like