What is it like being induced?

Hey mamas!! I have a question… I’m going to be induced on Thursday this week because I’m over my due date. So they are doing something called a Foley catheter and I’ve been googling about it non stop but I want real experiences. So it says that after they insert the Foley catheter they send me home and I wait until the next day to come back into the hospital to actually give birth. My question is, has anyone ever gone into labour directly after this thing was inserted? Or does it usually happen a day later like they said? If anyone has had this method done please share with me your experiences​:pray:t4::purple_heart:

4 Likes

I had one … worst pain I’ve ever felt … then had 30 hours of unproductive labour before an emergency c-section … hopefully yours works better than mine 💁🏼

2 Likes

They call it a foley bulb. I’ve never actually seen them send people home with this. I’m a NICU nurse so we are constantly in the charts reading progress notes on laboring moms just Incase the come to us and I’ve only ever seen this done in house at the hospital. But other places may be different. I’ve seen women progress in a couple of hours getting to like 3-4 and then they pull it and start pitocin

The o ly time I had one was with my son. I was 3 days overdue and once it was in I could not get up. Of course I was leaking fluid for 3 day prior…then that ended in an emergency c-section

Never heard of someone being sent home like this. I would call your OB nurse line or the hospital for clarification on this.

1 Like

I had a foley bulb with my induction, however I wasn’t sent home with it. After it was inserted the nurse checked me every 15 minutes or so and tugged on it a bit. It was out within 2-3 hours and I dilated 5 centimeters with it.