What to do for sciatic pain

6 months pregnant - I am literally in pain every day.
My sciatic nerve is acting up daily now - to the point it can be excruciating to stand or sit for extended periods of time…
I also have pelvic pain that is the absolute worst if I sit for too long.
I work as a cashier - and although I have a chair, it’s not helping anymore because even sitting on a stool for 9 hours a day is killing me. I know I sound like a baby but I’m having a rough pregnancy… my mother and MIL both can’t believe all the issues I’m having… to the point I just cry at night from the pain… I don’t want to work anymore, but I have to for bills and etc. he works, but I don’t feel comfortable having him pay MY phone bill, and MY credit card bill until I take maternity leave… I’ve already mentioned to them I can’t work more than 1 day straight & I can only do 6 hours a day - yet they are making me receive an accommodation from the HR department which can take awhile, and I have to have my doctor fax paperwork to HR and wait for an approval (or disapproval)
I don’t know what to do. I’ll feel so guilty if I stop working…

Is that better? Or you just can’t post in general?

5 Likes

Chiropractor. My chiropractor fixed my sciatic nerve problem, and then when I got round ligament pain she fixed that too!

I would look into a chiropractor (check with your OBGYN to see if they have any they would recommend)- there are specific places that cater to pregnant patients that help a lot with sciatic pain (chiromom). Compression socks (you can find them on Amazon) and even compression arm sleeves are a lifesaver as well. Good luck!! You’re in the home stretch!!!

What they are saying with you having to wait for approval? I would check into that. You should be able to have a dr note and they should accommodate.

Chiropractor fixed my sciatica in a few treatments. You also might want to do massage as well.