When did you know your child was ready to potty train?

When did you know your toddler wanted to be potty trained? My daughter recently has started taking off her diaper and asks me to change her (right after I change her) and tells me to change her (even though she’s dry). My daughter is 2.7

2 Likes

I didn’t wait for my daughter’s to be ready once they turned 1 I bought a potty chair and Everytime I went to use the bathroom I would take off their diaper and bring them into the bathroom with me and sit them on their potty…worked like a charm!

Once my daughter started taking her nappy off (18 months) I started popping her on a portable potty in the toilet room. She’d sit on it when I sat on the loo. She was toilet trained at 22 months.

2 Likes

Showing interest in using the potty. Only took a weekend of consistency. My boys were potty trained by 2 1/2.

2 Likes

I didn’t wait to see when they were ready. I started training my kids when they were walking stable around 1.5 and were trained by 2 where they knew when to let someone know they needed to go. By 3 they went on their own but needed help to wipe. By 4 they were going on their own and wiping.

5 Likes

My daughter was 18 months old when she was potty trained, I think most girls train earlier than boys. Just my opinion. I think she’s ready.

She sounds ready! If she can communicate that with you she can definitely realize when she has to potty! My daughter fully potty trained (by herself for the most part) by 2yo. My son on the other hand was alot older than that. Make it fun, let her pick out her own new undies, plan to stay home or bring a portable tiny toilet with you if you’re in the go and you can get it done in less than a week if you’re persistent with her, and reward for every potty in the toilet🥰

I didn’t wait I introduced them to the potty by 2 they were trained just needed help wiping.

1 Like