When is it safe for my son to be around his friends?

What is the new covid protcol? my son tested positive on money and its now friday and he tested negative…he only had symptoms for one day and wants to go outside and play…can he still spread it?

8 Likes

As a health care professional i will say that the virus affects everyone differently. Some people can be contagious for 4 days and others for 14. I would say play it safe for a few more days and wear a mask. The shortened isolation time is only due to the fact there were shortages of workers in health care and factories. It had nothing to do with the actual illness being less contagious/serious. But honestly if he tested negative, as long as he continues to wash his hands he should be fine.

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. When is it safe for my son to be around his friends?

What did your Dr say?

It’s a minimum of 5 days and a mask for the following 5 days

7 Likes

He can be around others on day 6 with a mask on and no symptoms.

3 Likes

I believe it’s a week everyone I know they tested positive was back to work a week later unmasked

I hate the 5 day rule. I know people who have tested positive on day 6, but still had to return work. On day 5 covid doesn’t magical dissappear. You can go around people again once you test negative. Hopefully you kiddo is doing well.

3 Likes

I believe its 5 days but hes also tested negative. If he has no symptoms I’d let him play.

He should be fine to go out and play. I 100% would not mask him outdoors! Especially in the heat.

1 Like

He tested negative so let him go play with his friends

4 Likes

He’s negative. He’s good to go.

3 Likes

I got it in April, wasnt bad at all but i had to wait the 10 days public health told me to i wasnt allowed out at allbut im in Manitoba

2 Likes

If he has tested negative and has no symptoms (no cough left ) let him go play.

1 Like

Where I’m at it’s 5 days quarantine, then 5 days masked and social distancing