Why does my daughter have so many accidents at school?

have a 3 year old daughter almost 4 that hasn’t been wanting to use the restroom since my son has been born . (He’s soon to be 9 months ) she’s been fully potty trained since she was 2 but I need advice to get her fully potty trained again . She started preschool a month ago and the teacher sets a timer every hour to ask her if she has to go potty . Now she changed It to 30 minutes due to my daughter having constantly accidents. The teacher gives her rewards if she uses the restroom throughout the whole day but there’s time that she wont make it . When we’re at home my daughter will use the restroom without a problem. It’s rare she’ll have an accident but at school she’ll constantly have them . Any advice?

14 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. Why does my daughter have so many accidents at school?

As a preschool teacher I can say this happens generally because the child is having so much fun that she doesn’t want to take the time to go. I hope the teacher makes sure you word it " it’s time to try" rather than asking her to try to go because she can just say no. I also try to find a time when the child is between activities to get them to try, I offer to save their place at whatever activity they were doing or hold the toy they were playing with.

15 Likes

Overstimulation In new environment making her forget. I’d do every 20 minutes.

6 Likes

She could just be so involved in what ever activity she is doing, that she forgets. Also I would try every 20 min. That really seemed to lessen the amount of accidents when I worked in a daycare.

1 Like

My daughter had the same problem found out the bathrooms were dirty and she didn’t want to sit on the toilet could be a similar situation!

1 Like