Am I broken as a woman?

I'm in my 30s, single never been married or anything remotely close to that even, no children and also not planning to date any time soon. I don't go out with guys at all. Even when interest is shown, I abruptly get rid of them and although to some this may sound like no problem, it affects me emotionally on another level. Mainly makes me feel like I'm not a proper woman.

I’m definitely not gay so that is not the issue either. I find men very attractive, but once attention is put on me I run.

I was sexually abused for a very long time as a child by a close family member. I don’t know if that is the reason I run from a relationship, but it makes me feel like I’m broken in the sense of I’m not a proper woman who is able to love a man or have children etc. When I think of the idea of marriage it sounds like a fairy tale and that it would be amazing to finally find a partner suitable for me and build a family, but when I’m honest with myself, that idea scares me, I don’t feel up to it, I don’t feel the urge to be a mother. Not that I don’t like children, it’s just I don’t have the need for a child and I run from men who show interest because usually they only want one thing anyway, which I refuse to give.

What scares me is will I always be alone then? Men want a willing woman who will please him and be mother to his children. Although I am straight and interested in men, I don’t feel enough of a woman to let a man near me or put up with the drama they could cause anyway. I can’t relate to anyone around me with their lives because they’re all married and have children. Will I always feel like I’m broken as a woman?

219 Likes