Can my childs father get custody even though he hasn't seen them in years?

Hello, I have a question to ask: can the father of my children can get the right to get partial custody of them if he asks for it even though he has not seen them for nine years, and he is illegally here in the United States.? So recently I have file child support on my ex and the letter came in saying I have opened the case and now he has threatened me he is going to get a lawyer and if he does pay child support he wants the rights to see the kids on their vacation and stay with him every other weekend and also to have a letter saying I can let him have the girls go out of state to visit family and stuff, and I just want to know if there is any advice on what I can do? I am legal here since I was born in the U.S, but I want to know what I should do? And it is my first time I have to go through this. Thanks

22 Likes

Well why canā€™t he have visitation?

3 Likes

uhm no. heā€™s threatening you because he knows youā€™ll let him.

1 Like

The long and short of it is yes, he can petition to have joint custody

3 Likes

Hes the father. He can get visitation with the kids. If you request child support he will have rights. He has not seen children in 9 years and u never bothered to file for abandonment? :thinking:

2 Likes

Just because your a US Citizen doesnā€™t make you a better parent. He can get partial custody because he is the father. You canā€™t just collect child support and keep him from his kids.

5 Likes

I highly doubt theyā€™ll just let him have access to the kids right away. They are his kids too though, but think about it, if he hasnt spent any time with them in 9 years I doubt heā€™ll start now.

6 Likes