How do I introduce my 6 year old daughter to a man I am interested in?

I have been talking to this man for about 3 months. I think I really like him. We don't get to spend much time together so the relationship can't really grow because I haven't introduced him to my daughter.

I am terrified! I left my daughter’s dad when she was 6 months old, I have been single since. She has never seen me around a man.

87 Likes

Mine met my 6 year old around that time but I had also known him since we were teenagers so had known each other for 7 years. Dated in the past but distance had been an issue. Mine is also a newer teacher so extensive background checks have been done (this year included since he started at a new school). We were exclusive already for months before they met and they only met as friends and we just went to some lakes to swim. If you aren’t exclusive, think you like him, and barely know each other than I give a definite no. If it weren’t for the fact that I’ve known my man for so many years I’d have never so soon

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. How do I introduce my 6 year old daughter to a man I am interested in? - Mamas Uncut

You make sure that he is interested in meeting her first.

2 Likes

Did u do a background check first

9 Likes

You think you really like him? Do NOT introduce him to your daughter

22 Likes

Slowly. As a friend. Trips to the park, McDonald’s trips, pizza

10 Likes

This is an iffy situation. Can you have him over while she’s asleep or at school /if public school/? I just don’t think it’s a good idea to introduce a guy you aren’t even officially with and one you “think” you like. I’d just be concerned about her getting attached before even being official and then him or you deciding it won’t work.

9 Likes

3 months? Uhm no… :woman_facepalming:

14 Likes

You can always do video chats first to get them both comfortable and then let them meet when she feels up to it.