How do you send your breastfed baby to daycare?

Hey guys, I have a question about the transition of putting an infant (3 mo) in daycare. I return back to work in three weeks, and my son will be going to daycare two days a week. I am currently breastfeeding and have no clue on where to begin as far as how many bottles to send or when to start pumping? We didn’t put my first son into daycare until 18 months, so I’m new to this! I would love to hear about other mamas experiences during the transition period when they went back to work and what it was like. Thanks!

7 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. How do you send your breastfed baby to daycare? - Mamas Uncut

I would start pumping now and grow a huge stockpile. I dunno the other answers.

When I worked at a daycare they sent a small lunchbox with ice packs and pumped milk frozen and I would thaw as needed in hot water

Start pumping now and also offering a bottle it can take awhile to find one the baby will accept

3 Likes

Depends on the daycare. My baby’s daycare wanted one bottle they would wash every feeding and I’d give most milk to them frozen so they can thaw themselves except for what you think baby will eat that day since bm is only good 24 hours from frozen in the refrigerator. Then they’d let me know if they were running low just like with diapers.

I didn’t breastfeed long but I was a infant/toddler teacher for 5 years. I would say start pumping now and freezing milk with the bag flat (easier and quicker to thaw) some parents brought enough for the day some brought a freezer stash to last a week. All depends on how much you pump I guess. Also the parents who brought enough for only the day would also have some frozen for back up or a small thing of formula just incase they needed more.