How old is too old to breastfeed?

I have been breastfeeding for 12 months now and do not plan on stopping anytime soon. I was just curious when other mamas stopped and why you made the decision to stop? Is there a cut off age?

10 Likes

I am a CLC.
My daughter fed till she was 6. In some countries the average is between 4-7

6 Likes

I breastfed my first born till she was 3.5 years old. We stopped cause she chose to stop. Iā€™m all for breastfeeding till the age of 5 cause of there immune systems fully mature by then :blush:

3 Likes

Iā€™m still breastfeeding my son at almost 21 months.

1 Like

I nursed my first until 2. She self weaned.

I think itā€™s really up to you and your comfort. For me I stopped when my lo got the first teeth. My lo bit down on my nipple and it bleed for a day, I couldnā€™t pump it at all until two days after when the bite healed a little. My one boob got swollen, and huge. It wasnā€™t what I wanted to do initially but I chose to continue to pump until the first year was over, but I stopped breastfeeding at I think 10 months. My lo still got breast milk, just not in the ideal way.

1 Like

My sister nursed until 18months, another friend went until 2 years. :woman_shrugging:t3:

Here the thing by the time they are 6 months -1 yr breastmilk should still be a good portion of intake in addition to the solids. You can offer breast and then top off with solids or alternate a breastfeed and a solid feeding as they get older.
By the time my daughter was 2 she was feeding maybe 3-4x a day sometimes more if she was sick or hurt and needed the comfort. By the time she was 3 it was 1-2x/day and by the time she was 4 it was every other day or 2-3x/week. Once she was 5 it was once a week and stayed that way until she weaned and yes you still produce that long the nutrients change to meet the childā€™s needs it will be a lot less in quantity but more concentrated at the same time

2 Likes