I feel like my daughters teachers failed her...advice?

I feel like my daughters teachers have failed her the last 6 years. She has always struggled in school and after doing some research I feel like she has a learning disability so I reached out to speak with her teachers and they all agreed…even reached out to past teachers and again they agreed…but why didnt anyone say anything to me so I could get her help soooner? Is this not their job? I am not a professional…I feel like all my daughters confidence is gone now…and I am pulling her from school and homeschooling now…

66 Likes

Mom of two boys with IEPs. You have to remember you are your child’s best advocate.

7 Likes

As a parent while doing homework with her for the past 6 years, you had to realize she had a learning disability.You could have also taken steps to assist her.

49 Likes

You can’t blame the teachers. You should have said something. That is absolutely the first step. You are your child’s advocate. You have to advocate for your child, if you feel like they need help.

1 Like

I don’t think it’s fair to completely assume teachers fault. They have a lot of kids to oversee. Not sure the entire history of things they’ve talked about but for me I feel like I don’t just send them off and expect them to learn there, I need to
Help
Them at home. But it’s not easy trust me I get it. Like things aren’t done how they used to be and things that are simple don’t feel that way.

I think you’re doing a great thing keeping her home to work with her. She can gain her confidence back. I feel like I would have done better with one on one learning and that’s what she’ll be getting from you. It doesn’t have to be forever but take it one day at a time. There are a lot of resources out there, tutors !!! Good luck. It’s never too late. 🩷 you’re doing a good job by catching it and doing what you need to!!!

5 Likes