I Need Advice on How to Feel Better About My Body?

This question was submitted to our community via our Facebook page and/or our Answers forum. Responses are also taken from the community. If you have your own parenting or relationship question you would like answers to, submit on Facebook or Answers.

QUESTION:

"Is it okay to feel bad about how my body looks? I've been married for 9 years I have two children aged 8 and 6 and I've been crying for two years because of the way my body looks. After my two babies, nothing is the same I have never felt like this. I don't know how normal this is but inside I feel like I lost myself I don't know who I am and what I want. My head keeps saying you look disgusting."

RELATED: Shocking News: Britney Spears’ Father Files Petition to End Her 13-Year Conservatorship

TOP ANSWERS (AS SELECTED BY MODERATOR):

The following top answers have been selected by a moderator from hundreds of responses to the original question.

"I feel like this totally normal, unfortunately. Your body will never go back to how it was before kids… but just remember your body is amazing. You were your kids' first home, & what woman’s bodies can handle is amazing. I know it’s easier said than done, but you’re beautiful. What is it that you don’t like? Needing to lose weight? Extra skin? Focus on your diet, don’t hold back on foods you like but eat smaller portions of it. Lots of water. Take your vitamins. Look up at home workouts on YouTube. Extra skin can be very hard to deal with…maybe save up money for surgery? There’s also (I forgot what it’s called so I’m going to say lingerie) that can help hold everything in. Do things for self-care - get your nails done, hair done, buy a cute matching bra and underwear set, get a massage, do your make-up every day. It really can be small things that make you feel better about yourself. xx"