I Need Advice or Perspective: How Should I Deal With My Kid?

This question was submitted to our community via our Facebook page and/or our Answers forum. Responses are also taken from the community. If you have your own parenting or relationship question you would like answers to, submit on Facebook or Answers.

QUESTION:

"Back story, I'm a makeup artist, mortuary to be more specific. I have a wife (we're a 2 mom house) I'm kinda goth/emo looking. I have a 12 year old son who also loves punk looks and music like I do… Recently my 12 year old son (13 next month) told me he wants to wear makeup to school. Now we have no issue with self expression in this house, if he wants to wear it when we go out I honestly don't care and I support it. But here is my issue, we're in the Midwest and I KNOW he will be bullied, he's a unique guy, totally his own person. Idk what age is appropriate for kids to wear makeup. Do I fully inform him of the potential for bullying? And then just let him? Or do I wait longer? Maybe 14 or 15? As a mom we want to protect our kids, physically and emotionally but I also don't want to hold my son back from who he is and how he wants to see himself in the mirror. I want my children to have so much self love it spreads to others like the damn plague. I'm just a little lost, loving that he was open and honest with me but I really want to weigh all the possibilities and options. Please give me some loving perspective."

RELATED: Canadian Husband Takes Beauty Classes So He Can Help Style His Elderly Wife’s Hair And Makeup

TOP ANSWERS (AS SELECTED BY MODERATOR):

The following top answers have been selected by a moderator from hundreds of responses to the original question.