Is 4 years old to young to get up in the morning by herself?

Is 4 yrs old too young to get up and watch tv for about a hour by herself?I work as a special needs school bus driver. I leave my 4 yr old daughter home with my husband during my morning run. My husband works 2nd shift and doesn’t go to bed much before 5:00-6:00am. The last week I have been getting home about 8:30am to find my daughter either watching tv alone or coming to the door to greet me. She still sleeps in our room and we have told her to wake Daddy up before she leaves the bedroom but she doesn’t. My husband thinks I should keep her up until 10:30-11:00pm so she will sleep later. She just started afternoon preschool today so I could but I want her to have a normal schedule and I also want to have 1-2 hrs at night to do the housework/watch a tv show/relax after she goes to bed. My husband only sees her for 2 hrs a day from 11:30am when he gets up to 1:30pm when I leave to do my afternoon bus run and take her with me. Is it too much to ask that he gets up with her until I get home? Or is she ok for that 1hr to be up by herself?

109 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. https://answers.mamasuncut.com/t/is-4-years-old-to-young-to-get-up-in-the-morning-by-herself/21580

Depends on if they get into stuff or not my kiddos have been getting up about that time and watch TV

1 Like

Honestly I feel like It’s a no… 4 years old is still so young& so much can happen in that hour… it’s always better to be safe than sorry, I would just talk to your husband & tell him, he needs to get up for that hour. & maybe set extra alarms for him on his phone, so he has to get up with her… hope you get the answers your looking for💜

1 Like