Is the depo good birth control?

I was wondering if you can post about the depo l shot pros and cons. I am currently pregnant now will be due in may. My Dr is pushing for depo I just want what other women experienced on it. Please and thank you.

18 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. Is the depo good birth control? - Mamas Uncut

It literally made me crazy & gain almost 50lbs. Itā€™s convenient, yes, but idk I swear it made me feel & act insane.

5 Likes

Try a different form. That stuff is really hard to be on

1 Like

Made me gain sooo much weightšŸ˜• but I only got my period once every 3 months.

1 Like

Iā€™m on my 2nd round of depo and had my baby in October so far so good and never seen my period since dec

I have no experience as I am incredibly needle phobic, but I have not heard great things.

good birth control? yes
good for your body? BIG FAT NO

Iā€™ve never many any woman that liked it

I was on it for 6 years. Iā€™d say the last 2 years of being on depo it felt like a switch. I felt insane, gained like 30 pounds, my depression was at an all time high.

1 Like

Been on depo for 8 years now and I love it.

All woman contraceptive is bad for us! Sorry ladies I know from experience 4 out of 5 kids are birth control babies. Then essure coils tried to kill me. :roll_eyes::grimacing::pensive::sleepy:

I personally love it. Yes it is harder to lose weight on but the whole 8 years between my son and trying for my daughter I had absolutely no period at all. Got off of it in Nov 2017, found out we were pregnant in dec 2018 and had a beautiful girl. In 2021 we decided to try again so I stopped it and am now 19 weeks pregnant again.

1 Like

Makes you gain weight butttttt I didnā€™t get a period while on it. I also had issues with calcium deficiency while on it. Also if you donā€™t get the shot in time you can get pregnant. I recommend the nexplanon. It goes in the arm for 3 years, no trips to the doctor for the shot and works like depo