My step daughters mother got mad because I was going to dye her hair: Advice?

I need some advice, sorry it’s a little long. First some back story, my stepdaughter has lived with her father and me for almost ten years since she was taken from her mother at three and placed with us, we have her most of the time except every other weekend and some extra time during holidays, and we fully provide financially for her with little to no help from her mother. We have a child together, and I have for the last ten years cared for her as if she were my own, doing all the things mothers do for their kids. So to me, I’m more than just a “stepmom” to her and feel as though I should have some say when it comes to her. Anyway, recently, she has expressed interest in coloring her Hair; she told us she wants to put some Pink color just in the front, and we said that would be awesome. I have some experience with Hair, and I have been doing my own and my family’s Hair for years, so I offered to do it, as long as it was ok with(In an effort to co-parent which has never been easy) her mom. It was also something we could have done together and something I was happy to do for her. So the next time her mom called before my husband had the chance to talk to her about it, she was all excited, telling her mom that she wants her Hair done and that I can do it for her and asking if it’s ok. You could tell the conversation wasn’t going well, and she was basically defending me to her mom, so I just left the room for them to talk, so I don’t know exactly what was said. She comes out, and now she is upset and that her mom said she wants it done by a hairdresser and I’m not a hairdresser, and she should have gone to her first, etc…which I feel she should have spoken to my husband about her concerns, not my stepdaughter. My husband spoke to her mom, and after a big whole drama fest, her mom said I could do it. I told my husband I am not doing it now that I don’t feel comfortable and I don’t need the