What age did you let your kids stay home alone?

No hate or any negative comments please as I’m just honestly curious but at what age did you start letting your kids stay home alone? Not to babysit the younger ones or anything but in general what age is okay to let your kiddo stay home alone? My son is starting to not want to go places with me and if I go out of town I make him but there’s times were I just need to run to our local dollar general or the gas station which are both only a couple blocks away and we live in a very very small town. On top of that my parents and grandparents live on the same block as we do. So I’ve considered letting him stay home if all I’m doing is being gone for 5-10 minutes to grab something from the store or gas station but still hesitant due to his age.

25 Likes

My son 13 but he’s also MMA & had been in it 2 years by then. My daughter is almost 17 and I still don’t leave her alone. :woman_shrugging:t2: I worked in law enforcement far too long to trust it.

7 Likes

I think it depends on the maturity of the kid I remember getting my babysitting license at 11 . I think that 10-11 is more then reasonable if they can handle it.

10 Likes

It depends on the child’s maturity really. I have a 10 year old that’s more responsible than my 12 year old lol