What age did you stop showering with your kids?

Hi, I have been showering with my son since he was about two months old, and it was safe for me to do so (told by pediatrician it was safe), and he is now 15 months old. I do this to save time, and it’s a lot safer seeing as me, and he lives alone, so I don’t want to leave him out by himself while I shower. Tackles two birds with one stone. However, he has begun to recognize his own body and says “peepee” whenever he is undressed. He has not once said anything about my body and hardly pays attention to me in the shower because he’s playing the whole time, but I realize he may be starting to recognize his body parts and possibly will start recognizing we don’t have the same parts eventually and was wondering when you guys stopped bathing/showering with your kids (if you ever did)?

14 Likes

Following. Single mom with son here :woman_shrugging:

1 Like

I only ever showered with my daughter and stopped when she was like five. But it wasn’t a regular thing is was only every once in a while. I stopped bathing my oldest girl and my son together when he realized they were different. Maybe if you want to quit showering with him you should just shut the door and keep him in the bathroom with you?

My son is 3 we still shower together he asked where my willy was once I told him I’m a girl and I have a Minnie and that was the end of it. I would say maybe when he is 5 :woman_shrugging:t2:

5 Likes

Why is it an issue if he does? It’s your body, it’s nothing to be ashamed of :woman_shrugging:

6 Likes

Kids are 10 girl, 6 boy and 3 girl I still shower with them and they still bathe together I’ll let my 10 year old decide when she’s ready to stop getting into the bath with her siblings and I have started teaching my 6 year old how to shower by himself and the 3 year old is a free range bather, meaning if she hears the water running 9 times out of 10 she’s getting in with whoever’s in there.

12 Likes