When should girls brush their own hair?

If you could ask at what age is it appropriate for little girls to brush their own hair. My daughters are 8/9 almost 10 and theu dont do their own hair. Their mimi doesnt think they should. *they have curly hair

16 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. When should girls brush their own hair? - Mamas Uncut

My mom brushed my hair until I was around 12 lol my oldest is 7 and I still brush her hair

I am 35, and I don’t brush my hair. I just use my fingers.

My daughter is 13 with very thick coarse hair and I help her get the tangles out still sometimes

I brushed my own in 2nd grade. :woman_shrugging:t3:

1 Like

My eldest is almost 7, I will ask her to brush her hair and I’ll give her about 10-20 minutes as her hair is super long then I’ll go over it and put her hair up for her…
Being a hairdresser by trade I believe teaching my daughter to look after her hair is important

2 Likes

Women in general all need help with there for there whole life. Very few girls master doing great hair. If I were you I would do her hair until she feels a curtain way in school about her hair. Curly hair is not easy. Teaching while doing is important. Good luck

Really depends. “Curly” doesn’t explain it all. Some curly hair shouldn’t be brushed at all, but combed. If it’s simple enough hair type and they’re able to do it, there’s no reason they shouldn’t be. Some hair textures need more guidance and practice with an adult

1 Like

im 28 and dint brush my hair. rarely. just finger brush in the shower.

My son is 9 long hair and he’s just starting to brush it in the shower then I style it after sometimes I just brush it if he takes too long :sweat_smile:

Yes they are for sure old enough. They should do the bulk of it and you finish to make sure it’s done right. That way they are learning too.