Would You Consider Dating a Guy Who Was Charged With Stalking Twice?

This question was submitted to our community via our Facebook page and/or our Answers forum. Responses are also taken from the community. If you have your own parenting or relationship question you would like answers to, submit on Facebook or Answers.

QUESTION:

"I’m a teacher, recently divorced, and a momma of 4. A guy I went to high school started messaging me on Monday. We have been chatting all week and plan to go to dinner next Saturday. He has been such a gentleman and very sweet. He texts me every morning when he gets up and text me throughout the day too. I did not look him up on case net since I knew him from high school, but my sister did. She is super protective after what I went through with my last marriage (no abuse, just unfaithful and lied all the time). Anyway, when she looked him up, he had 2 charges for “adult abuse/stalking”. 2 different women, 4 years apart. I asked him about it and explained that as a mom and teacher, that I need to know what these were. He wasn’t upset that I asked and said he understood why. 1st charge was over a court thing for his son and the mother. He told her that they “both needed a bullet in the head for son’s sake because they can’t get along.” So the son’s mom claimed it as a threat and they issued a protection order. The second was a ex that he said was upset when he didn’t want to date her again. He said that called herself making inappropriate noises and claimed that it was him. He said he brought in phone records to prove he didn’t make the call and a text from her saying that the protection order was his Christmas gift. I 100% realize that there are 2 sides of the story, but this isn’t the guy I knew from high school ( I also know that people change). I also know that there are dishonest women that will pull things like this to ruin a guy. I work with my former teacher (and his). She told me to give him a chance. She remembers him as a great