Can I set those boundaries and not come off like the biggest jerk in the world?

I have two kids of my own who are almost grown. I was ready to be kid free and travel and do amazing things with my life. For about a year now I've been dating this guy who I absolutely love and he has three kids. They are all pretty young and way out of control. We only have them every other weekend and every other week in the summer. I don't want the responsibilities of raising these kids. I feel like I did my time raising kids already. I had my oldest when I was 18. I've been raising kids for 18 years now and I'm ready to be done. Is it possible for us to stay together without me taking on the "step-mom" role? Can I set those boundaries and not come off like the biggest jerk in the world? What would you guys do? I know I dhould have thought about this in the beginning and I did. I've just recently started having anxieties about this. I don't know what to do.
240 Likes

You look like a jerk just asking the question. Let him go find someone who will love his kids they way they deserve. When you date someone with kids, they’re a package deal. You should have told him from the beginning how you felt about kids. But then he probably wouldn’t have started dating you in the first place.

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. Can I set those boundaries and not come off like the biggest jerk in the world? - Mamas Uncut

Um… no. Either leave or accept them all. That’s a package deal. :woman_shrugging:t2::woman_facepalming:t2:

42 Likes

Nope. If you don’t want to be a step mom find someone without kids.

13 Likes

How would you have felt if someone had these feelings about your children when they were his childrens age? There are plenty of men out there without children. Go find one.

35 Likes

Imagine someone saying this about you with your kids when they were young smh. Let him go so he can find someone with enough love for him and his kids, you’re wasting his time.

7 Likes